Former Minister Panton named chairman of CIMA


Former government Minister Wayne Panton has been named as chairman of the Cayman Islands Monetary Authority (CIMA), replacing Grant Stein, his former colleague at law firm Walkers, in the role.

The term of the appointment is from July 21, 2018 to July 20, 2021. Panton became a partner at Walkers in 1997, eventually becoming a managing partner of the firm’s structured and asset finance practice before his retirement in 2011.

Three new CIMA board members have also been appointed; Theo Bullmore, Barry Kroeger and Patricia Teufel. Their terms will also run through July 2021.

Former Island Heritage Insurance Company chief executive Garth MacDonald has been named deputy chairman of the board. While the terms of current board members Patricia Estwick and Judith Watler have been extended.

Panton served as Cayman’s Minister of Financial Services, Commerce and Environment between 2013-2017.

CIMA, Chairman, Wayne Panton, Appointment, Cayman Islands

Cayman Funds